Society for New Communications Research Names Twitter Founders Jack Dorsey, Biz Stone & Evan Williams, Industry Analysts & Authors Charlene Li & Josh Bernoff & Dell, Inc. Innovators, Visionaries & Brand of the Year

by Jennifer McClure

The Society for New Communications Research Fellows have announced their choices for the Visionary of the Year, Innovator of the Year, and Brand of the Year awards as part of the SNCR Excellence in New Communications Awards program.

The Fellows have chosen:

* Charlene Li and Josh Bernoff, co-authors of Groundswell: Winning in a World Transformed by Social Technologies (Harvard Business Press), the 2008 SNCR Visionaries of the Year. The Visionary of the Year Award is presented to individuals whose ideas and achievements have contributed inspiration and leadership to the evolution of the new media and communications landscape.

* Twitter founders Jack Dorsey, Biz Stone, and Evan Williams, the 2008 SNCR Innovators of the Year. The Innovator of the Year is awarded to the organization or individual(s) whose technological innovations had the most impact on the communications and media industry.

* Dell, Inc., the 2008 SNCR Brand of the Year. The Brand of the Year is awarded to the organization that made the most significant advances in utilizing new communications and social media tools, technologies and practices.

“New media tools are quickly transforming the nature of business-customer relationships,” commented Paul Gillin, SNCR Senior Fellow and host of the 2008 Excellence in New Communications Awards program. “This year’s special award winners have the vision and success to provide a valuable example for others.”

These special award winners will be honored at the Society for New Communications Research Symposium & Awards Gala, which will be held at the Hotel Marlowe in Cambridge Mass. on Friday, November 14th.

More information and online registration is available at

In addition, at this gala event, the Society will announce and honor the winners of the SNCR Excellence in New Communications Awards. The Society’s prestigious awards program honors individuals, corporations, nonprofit organizations, educational institutions and media outlets that are pioneering the use of social media, ICT, mobile media, online communities, virtual worlds, and collaborative technologies in the areas of business, media and professional communications, including marketing, public relations, and advertising as well as entertainment, education, politics, and social initiatives. Awards are granted in six divisions: Corporate, Government, Media, Nonprofit/NGO, Academic, and Technology Innovation, and in seven categories: Online Reputation Management; Behind the Firewall; Blogger Relations; External Communications and Communities; New Media Creation; Collaboration and Co-creation; and Mobile Media. The entrants submit their entries as case studies and all winning case studies will be published in New Communications Review.

The 3rd Annual SNCR Research Symposium & Awards Gala is sponsored by Active Access / BIA Information Network, LLC, Business Wire, iContact, Middleberg Communications, Vocus, Social Media Club and Socialtext.